Gathering Resources

On my Desk, Resources

I’ve been working on my promotional strategy, and looking up the resources I will need so that I can successfully promote myself to publishers.  The book I got a while ago ‘Breaking into Freelance Illustration the guide for artists, designers and illustrators‘ has been very helpful.  As well as http://escapefromillustrationisland.com/, there are great resources for illustrators who are just starting out, but it also invites you to interact with the rest of the community.   The ability to ask people in my position what they did and how they got to where they are has been invaluable to me.

One book that they recommend for building your mailing list is 2010 Children’s Writer and Illustrators Market, there are publishers lists as well as details about the submissions guidelines and agent contacts as well.  I was wondering how people got the contact information for publishers and art directors specifically until I found the book.

One thought on “Gathering Resources

Leave a Reply

