Vector drawing is a challenge

In my Brain then on to Paper, Life, On my Desk, Portfolio, Vector Drawing, Work in Progress

Most of my artistic experiences had been in traditional media, I drew on paper with a pencil, paint with a brush on canvas and print with blocks of wood on handmade paper.  More recently I’ve had to scale back on how much time, space and resources I put into making art.  I still have boxes and boxes of artworks and supplies, but I find myself using these less often and some now, not at all.  The tools that have gotten the most use in the last few years have all been new technology.

My computer is the main piece of equipment along with my tablet and scanner, they are my new tools of the trade.  I do still do a lot of drawing in my sketch book, but after that it’s brought in to my computer and finished there.

In the early days of working from my computer I used to finish a painting, then scan it in and just do the editing and touchups in photoshop.  But now I’m finding that I want to create entire pieces on just the computer, this means I need to learn something I’ve been avoiding for a long time.  Adobe Illustrator, I’ve been using this program casually for five or six years now, but I’ve never really invested the time to really sink my teeth into it the way I did with photoshop.  At this point in my life I need to look at more effective ways of creating my images, so I get the most out of my time, space and resources.

I’ve been working on a few images over the past two days and really working on picking up new skills so that I can create the images that I want.  The most challenging thing I find about creating vector images is how sterile the images look to me compared to my other work.  I’m used to tactile media and lots of textures, and recreating that digitally has changed the feeling in a lot of my work.

My next step today is to create a simple image with the warmth and tactile feeling of a mixed media painting.  Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “Vector drawing is a challenge

  1. I’m only using Photoshop. I’m balking at buying Illustrator. I’m limping along with vexel images using Photoshop’s path tool when the work calls for that look rather than Illustrator’s true vectors.

    Still, I totally get the flat, no texture thing. Some images just need texture and brushstrokes and variations in transparency. Vectors (and vexels) are great for smooth lines, but sometimes you need the randomness of a hand-painted swath (or a reasonable digital imitation of it).

    1. After spending some more time with illustrator I can say I really do like it now. The way an image can be worked, then re-worked over and over while still maintaining the same high quality is a huge advantage.

      Since I’ve also been bringing my own textures from other paintings into my digital work they have taken on more of an organic feel.

Leave a Reply

